Liking or disliking something is not the problem, it’s the wanting to selfishly possess it

I love Life in all its forms; but if I’m honest, I must add, that I’m attracted more strongly to few manifestations of It. In other words, I want to have more of the pleasant experiences around certain places and people, which makes me FAVOR them against others, I even favor the memory of the pleasant ones versus the experience of the present.
.
I favor a person, an object or a place because it resonates with me, but just for a moment. My resonance is not only unique, but also constantly changing. Favoring is not a problem, it’s actually very natural, but the NEED TO POSSESS that favorite object is what causes suffering, because both, the subject and object of possession, become trapped in the jail of EXPECTATIONS.
.
Allowing UNCONDITIONAL LOVE in our lives, which is our natural state, brings the opportunity to DETACH from this destructive habit of needing to possess. In practice this translates into, perhaps, the most important question we could ever ask: Can I deeply love someone with no strings attached?

One thought on “Liking or disliking something is not the problem, it’s the wanting to selfishly possess it

  1. This is very relevant to our relationship. I have come to terms with the fact that “having had the chance to be around you for a certain time” is enough of a life reward. I miss our conversations and sisterhood but I trust that regardless of your choice of maintaining or not or connection, you and I will always share unconditional love for each other.

    Be well my dear friend. xox

Leave a Reply

