Do we expect 24/7 relationships?

24-7Relationships_1Technology has made possible something incredible: instant availability 24/7. It’s so cool that I can text my best friend in Venezuela for free, and even better that she responds right away. It’s like having her next to me.
.
I live in the USA where stores stay open all night and proudly advertise in a huge neon sign “Open 24/7”. I can’t even translate that into Spanish.
.
What’s wrong with this picture? Nothing, except that being available 24/7 is an energetically consuming exercise that creates an artificial need for a person for the sole purpose of busting her/his ego. I even measured my worthiness in proportion to how many people needed me, and then I complained because my life was so stressfull!

Leave a Reply

