Cleaning up my shit

I call SHIT all the habits, believes, and emotions that don’t serve me any longer. I have mostly adopted them from my parents, but I have also picked up a bunch from my culture.
For example, I grew up in the latino housewife belief system where I’m expected to self-sacrifice for the family and oath unconditional loyalty to my husband as a token of gratitude to the male provider that chose me among all other women.
.
I’m not saying that this belief system is wrong. I’m only pointing out the power that we have as free will creators to change any belief that doesn’t make us happy.
.
Emotions are always rooted in a belief. Emotions expressed as reactions in the present, help us identify what beliefs add to our happiness or to our misery.
.
In the past I believed, for instance, that my worthiness derived from being desired by a man. The slight rejection from a man I liked, triggered a negative emotion in me. Because I thought that this belief was part of my personality, and that personality was something that I was born with and couldn’t change, I lived miserably-ever-after.
.
But soon enough I realized that there was no reality outside of me, that I was responsible for the negative reaction because I was the one choosing to depend on someone else for my happiness.

20140120-185744.jpg

2 thoughts on “Cleaning up my shit

Leave a Reply

