Independence Day: Free to be the Source of Our Own Happiness

Encouragement

As we say goodbye to the month of July, and Independence Day celebrations fade from our memories, here is some food for thought.  (No Fourth of July leftovers – I promise!)

I spent years thinking my ex-wife’s happiness was my responsibility and when she failed to be happy, I blamed myself, assumed I was a failure as a husband and was sure our marriage was doomed.  And that brought all kinds of collateral damage with it.  For the record, my ex-wife did not expect me to make her happy.  But somewhere along the way I picked up the erroneous belief that her happiness was my responsibility.

This past Independence Day inspired me.  I decided to implement a BYOH (Bring Your Own Happiness) policy for a more independent world.  On a day that celebrates the birth of our nation and our freedom from oppression and tyranny, I realized that as individuals…

View original post 622 more words

Leave a Reply

