What do I surrender to?

Have you heard the word surrender? Perhaps read it in a self help book or heard it in a yoga class? In a spiritual context, we may surrender to God, to the highest self, to love or to Life; but in practical terms, how do we do that? Where is God, the highest self, love or Life? It’s all in my body, in the present! So when we surrender, we are simply surrendering to the PRESENT, letting go of the past and the future.
.
But how do we surrender to the present? By first embracing, then accepting, and ultimately loving myself as I am RIGHT NOW, and consequently the world around me as it is. Easier to say than to do, right? I’ve found that by focusing on what’s already good in my life in the present moment, no matter how unpleasant the circumstances are, puts me in tuned with this intention.

20140112-112410.jpg

Leave a comment